Rep. Murphy Appointed to Economic Recovery Commission

State Representative Mike Murphy (R-Springfield) has been appointed by House Republican Leader Jim Durkin (R-Western Springs) to serve on the newly created Restore Illinois Collaborative Commission. Murphy brings more than thirty years of business management experience to the commission intended to help the revival of Illinois’ economy in response to the COVID-19 shutdown.

“I want to thank Leader Durkin for the opportunity to bring my experience to the commission,” said Murphy. “This commission has the potential to help our state save critical segments of our economy and bring back the countless jobs lost during the shutdown, but only if all the commission members and the Governor are receptive to recommendations. There are numerous safe ways to get more people back to work and we need to take action. Too many previous commissions have failed to deliver and we simply cannot afford that this time around.”

The legislation that created the commission during the special legislative session held in May, SB 2135, calls for more collaboration between the legislature and the administration. The commission will monitor the Governor’s actions in further implementation of his Restore Illinois plan and provide feedback for action through monthly reports. The commission will also recommend legislative action if needed.

Ultimately, the Governor still has the final say on the implementation of Commission recommendations, short of legislative action by the full General Assembly. Concerning this Murphy said, “Yes, I am concerned that too much power still rests with the Governor to act or not act on commission recommendations, but now is the time for him to stand by his word to work collaboratively. The livelihoods and futures of millions of Illinoisans deserve nothing less.”  

The Restore Illinois Collaborative Commission consists of fourteen members of the General Assembly, four Democrats each from the House and Senate, along with three Republicans each from the House and Senate.